It was a bright Sunday morning when all the rotaractors from around the country gathered early morning at Golden Rose Banquet hall in Boralesgamuwa looking sharp, dressed up on their best attire.

At the beginning itself, anyone could have guessed it to be a very successful event by looking at the generous crowd gathered at the premises of Golden Rose, hurrying up to the registration desks, busy registering themselves prior to the event.

Proceedings to the first half of the days’ event started with the arrival and the welcome of Past Rotaract District Governor Rtn. Dr. Ven. Bandagiriye Somawansa Thero and Rtn. Sathyajith Senevirathne along with DRR Rtr. PP Anuradha Senanayake DRR for the year 2017-18, Rtr. Amjath Yoosuf DRR elect for the year 2018-19, Rtr. Shalanka Weerasinghe Secretary of the Rotaract District for the year 2017-18. Rtr. PP Anuradha Senanayake addressed the gathering for the last time as the District Rotaract Representative delivering her speech and mentioning how important to make a mark as a leader.

Rtr. PP Oshadha Abhayasundara presented the Token Of appreciation to Mr. and Mrs. Anura Senanayake for their continuous love and support, and also taking care of all the district members throughout the year, when they needed it.

Then Rtn. PHF. Bobby Srinivas took the floor to thank the rotaractors around the country for completing a successful year. He also thanked the District led by Rtr. PP Anuradha Senanayake and the board for directors; wished Rtr. PP Amjad Yoosuf and his team for an extraordinary year. Rtn. PHF Satyajit Senevirathne then took the stage to thank all the rotaractors and interactors for the experience they gave and shared. He offered a his helping hand to elect DRR while mentioning that now everyone can be a rotarian while being a rotaractor.

Upon the departure of the Rotarian, Rtr. PP Oshadha Abhayasundara proceeded with award ceremony calling District Rotaract Representative Rtr. PP Anuradha Senanyake and District Governor Rtn. Dr. Ven. Bandagiriye Somawansa Thero on the stage to present the awards.

Rtr. Minhaz Irphan, the IT director of Rotaract club of IIT was able to secure an award on Spirit of Service, for his immense support throughout the year for every IT related engagement in the district.

Keeping up to the momentum created at the start of the assembly, Rotaract club of IIT went onto grab many number of awards during the first half of the event. They were able to secure,

  1. Gold award for
  2. “Trailblazers”, the most outstanding project with interactors.
  3. Silver award for “Route 87”, most outstanding special project in-line with District Theme.
  4. Silver award for “Haxmas”, most outstanding digital communication service project.
  5. Gold award for most outstanding regional engagement effort in Colombo.
  6. Silver award for outstanding special achievement of district citation where they were able to complete 7 out of 9 optional projects apart from the mandatory projects.
  7. Gold award for the Colombo phase of Rotaract Golden Jubilee celebration while Rtr. Thariq Hamad, Club’s Secretary was able to win the recognition as the the Secretary of the quarter for his amazing to the club.

Initial half of the award ceremony concluded with an entertainment item from Rtr. Sanjana Perera of Rotaract club of Panadura and Rtr. Reshan of Rotaract club of Colombo East. Past District Governor Rtn. Dr. Ven. Bandagiriye Somawansa Thero then took the stage to deliver his speech to thank all the rotaractors for making a change in this Rotaract year. Ven. Thero also mentioned the importance of Rotaract and how it can mould a person in to a better version of him/herself. At the end of Ven. Thero’s speech tokens of appreciation were given to Rotarians, District Rotaractors including DRR Rtr. PP. Anuradha’s Executive committee and the board members. District governor presented the certificate in male angel to DRR Rtr. PP. Anuradha while here district members gave her the token of appreciation for being a great leader and always being there for them.

Official proceedings for the morning ended with the announcement on breakout session where all the rotaractors from around the country had to go through a one hour training session with respect to their positions on their respective Rotaract club boards. Sessions finished off on a happy note and giving lot of knowledge on their job roles for the rotaractors who participated. All the rotaractors gathered treated themselves with a three- course scrumptious meal at the end of the morning session.

Second half of the session started with the mesmerizing performance of traditional dancers on welcoming the dignitaries of the head table District Committee Chairperson Rtn. PHF. Sathiyendra T. Singham, Rotary District Governor Rtn. PP Dushan Soza, District Youth Service Chairperson Rtn. PP G. S. Sylvester along with DRR Rtr. PP Anuradha Senanayake President, DRR Elect Rtr. Amjath Yoosuf and District Rotaract Secretary Rtr. Shalanka Weerasinghe. Once everyone settled on their seat DRR elect for the year 2019-20, Rtr. PP Krishna Balaji gave a heartfelt introduction to DRR elect for the year 2018-19, Rtr. Amjath Yoosuf for his collaring ceremony. Rtr. Anuradha Senanayake then collard Rtr. Amjath Yoosuf making him her successor.

DRR Rtr. PP gave a powerful speech on his vision for the year 2018-19 stating how much he will be focusing on the professional development aspect of the rotaractors island wide, along with adding values for their professional/corporate life through Rotaract. He made a special emphasis on the core values that he will be focusing on this year. They being inclusivity and equity, youth empowerment, creativity and innovation, leadership and strategic plan. He elaborated on each of these core values and how he is going to implement them on rotaractors throughout his year.

At the end of his speech, he introduced his quiet extensive board members followed with a small presentation on each member. This year out of 45 district board member three rotaractors from Rotaract club of IIT were able to make it into the district Rotaract board. Their IPP Thareef Bin Ubaid as the Joint Community Service Director, IPS Rtr. Thariq Hamad as the digital communication service coordinator and PP Rumesh Thiruchelvam Joint regional engagement and cluster director. DRR Amjath also introduced new positions to the board inline with his vision this year, two consultant pro bono network for Law Professionals, IPP Anjana Senanayake, PP Jaya Pradeep who are lawyers by profession.

At the end of the appointments, Rotary District Governor Rtn. PP Dushan Soza carried out his speech congratulating IP DRR on the completion of her successful year and wishing all the best for the newly appointed DRR and the board.

Awarding ceremony of the evening half started, yet offering multiple awards to Rotaractors of Rotaract Club of IIT,

  1. Silver award for most outstanding social media presence.
  2. Gold for most outstanding Public Relations project.
  3. Silver award for “Striving for Miracles” most outstanding community service project focused on education.
  4. Gold award for most outstanding club and also their IPP Thareef Bin Ubaid was able to secure most outstanding president in Gold.

As the day concluded rotaractors of IIT was nothing but overwhelmed with happiness knowing that all of their hard work throughout the year finally paid off in great appreciation and recognition from the district and from fellow rotaract clubs around the country.

28th ass 1
28th ass 2